Date: April 3, 2024

Time: 10:30 - 11:30 (China time)

Venue: LIB 2001

DSRC Seminar | From Federated Learning to Federated Data-Driven Optimization


Data-driven optimization problems are commonly seen in the real-world, ranging from engineering design to drug discovery, to automated architecture search of deep neural networks. This talk begins with a brief introduction to data-driven optimization together with some background of privacy-preserving machine learning. Then, we present a few recently developed privacy-preserving data-driven optimization algorithms, highlighting how federated learning and other privacy-preserving techniques can be integrated with data-driven evolutionary optimization and Bayesian optimization when the data for optimization are distributed and subject to privacy constraints.


Yaochu Jin is a Chair Professor for AI, Head of the Trustworthy and General AI Laboratory, School of Engineering, Westlake University. Prior to that, he was an Alexander von Humboldt Professor for Artificial Intelligence endowed by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, with the Faculty of Technology, Bielefeld University, Germany. He was a Surrey Distinguished Chair, Professor in Computational Intelligence, Department of Computer Science, University of Surrey, Guildford, U.K., “Finland Distinguished Professor” of University of Jyväskylä, Finland, “Changjiang Distinguished Visiting Professor”, Northeastern University, China, and “Distinguished Visiting Scholar”, University of Technology Sydney, Australia. His main research interests include evolutionary optimization and learning, trustworthy machine learning and optimization, and evolutionary developmental AI.

Prof Jin is presently the President of the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society and the Editor-in-Chief of Complex & Intelligent Systems. He is the recipient of the 2018, 2021 and 2024 IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation Outstanding Paper Award, and the 2015, 2017, and 2020 IEEE Computational Intelligence Magazine Outstanding Paper Award. He was named by the Web of Science as “a Highly Cited Researcher” consecutively from 2019 to 2023. He is a Member of Academia Europaea and Fellow of IEEE.